Skip to content

Team Sanity

November 2, 2012

I hear from people who don’t live with him that Honey Badger is doing much better.  I think so, too, but things aren’t perfect and maybe it’s just a temporary respite or maybe I’m seeing what I want to see or…

Parenthood isn’t the first situation that gave me a vast array of opportunities to second-guess myself, but parenthood took those opportunities to new levels of fretting.

Calling in a professional helped us deal with Honey Badger’s self-defeating patterns. Calling on certain of my friends helps me with mine. I’ve got a core group among my friends that I think of as Team Sanity. They have my best interests at heart. They think I’m a good mother. And each one of them has a child who has required therapy. So when I fire up the Crap Signal, they provide informed perspective on how crappy things are, whether what I did made things worse, and what can be done to improve the situation.

I can never ever thank them enough — I try, I do! — but I’m throwing out some gratitude into the universe to unnamed women on an anonymous blog. Maybe some of it will reach someone else’s Team Sanity. I’d hate to think I’m the only person who has one, although it doesn’t bother me that mine is the best. I need a Team Sanity. It’s not my fault I’ve got the best one possible. (Is it? Maybe I’m being greedy. Wow. I am terrible.)

2 Comments
  1. Lisa F. permalink
    November 8, 2012 10:00 pm

    Everybody needs a Team Sanity, I love how you put that. Parenthood kicked my already shaky sense of self-worth in the teeth. And I feel like my team is still in the tryout phase, I’m getting used to not oversharing, we’re getting settled into the Boy’s new school, and meeting new families, slowly revealing ourselves to them, and wondering if we can be friends, have built relationships with professional helpers. I think we’re all finally feeling like we’re going to survive, after the trauma that was kindergarten. Here’s to your Team Sanity!

    • November 9, 2012 3:04 pm

      I’m not sure I’ve got the hang of not oversharing, honestly.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

